Gluten Free Background

Gluten Free Chapati World

 

Welcome to Gluten Free Chapatti World. If you are here then it is likely that you, just like us, love eating chapatti, but are gluten intolerant, or are cooking for friends or family who are gluten intolerant.

 

We found that the highly versatile chapatti is one of the foods that people miss the most when they switch to a gluten free diet. When you extend that into roti, paratha and other flatbreads there’s a lot to miss.

 

Once we started looking we found that we were not alone. In fact, not at all! So many people are in the same situation and are desperately looking for facts, tips and information about how to bring chapatti back into their diet – but without the gluten! The good news is that there is so much out and the quality of gluten free flour has improved so much that there are many alternatives to traditional wheat.

 

This site is dedicated to giving you as much information as possible to empower you to bring gluten free chapatti back to your dinner table! If you have insight or a contribution to make then please let us know as we’d love to hear more!

 

Gluten Free

What are the symptoms of Gluten intolerance? How do I know if I might need to go gluten free?

 

These pages are intended for your information only, we’re not doctors, we’re foodies, so please consult a doctor if you are concerned!
 

You are not alone. In the UK alone UK gluten free food and drink market was estimated to be £934 million in 2019 according to research group Mintel. That is a lot of food and drink! Half of UK adults report food or ingredient avoidances in their household and one in three adults have bought free-from food or drink. Half of parents want more free-from choice for kids with people mainly interested in the digestive health benefits that we can get from free from foods.

 

To follow a gluten free diet you must avoid wheat and some other grains while choosing substitutes that provide nutrients for a healthy diet.

 

Gluten is a protein found in most grains. The gluten found in wheat, barley and rye can trigger serious health problems or other insensitivities in some people. While other grains such as corn, rice and quinoa also contain gluten, they don't seem to cause the same problems as wheat, barley, and rye.

Because wheat, rye, barley and foods made from them are so common, taking them out of your diet with completely change your make-up of nutrient absorption. So you should really check with your doctor, or nutritionist or dietician to maintain a well-balanced diet.

Many people also choose to follow a gluten-free diet for other reasons. For those without a gluten-related medical condition there are other benefits reported about cutting out gluten; such as improved health, weight loss and increased energy.

Coeliac disease

Coeliac disease can develop at any age and affects both men and women. Lots of people don’t know that they have and live with it experiencing symptoms.

 

In people with coeliac disease the immune system reacts abnormally to gluten (a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats), causing small bowel damage. The tiny, finger-like projections that line the villi (the inside of the bowel) become inflamed and flattened. This reduces the surface area of the bowel available for nutrient absorption, which can lead to various gastrointestinal and malabsorptive symptoms.

 

Scientists believe that there is a genetic link for people with Coeliac disease with close family members (parent, sibling, child) of someone with coeliac disease having a 10% chance of also having the disease. If one identical twin has coeliac disease there is an approximate 70% chance that the other twin will also have coeliac disease. Environmental factors play an important role in triggering coeliac disease.

 

The only cure for Coeliac disease is to follow a gluten free diet. Please consult an expert and some helpful pages can be found in our resources section. You will need advice on how to successfully manage your intake of Iron; Calcium; Fibre; Thiamin; Riboflavin; Niacin; and Folate.

Gluten sensitivity 

Some people choose to cut out gluten because they have a sensitivity and some symptoms associated with coeliac disease — including abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, "foggy brain," rash or headache — even though there is no damage to the tissues of the small intestine. Studies show that the immune system plays a role, but the process isn't well understood.

Wheat allergy

Some people have an allergy to wheat that is the result of the immune system mistaking gluten or some other protein found in wheat. immune system creates an antibody to the protein, prompting an immune system response that may result in congestion, breathing difficulties or other symptoms.

Gluten Free symptoms    


Some of the most common symptoms of having a possible problem with gluten are:

  • Diarrhea and constipation

  • Bloating

  • Abdominal pain

  • Fatigue

  • Nausea

  • Headaches

 

Other less common symptoms are joint and muscle pain; depression or anxiety; confusion; severe abdominal pain; and anaemia.

Gluten free diet

Because so many foods contain gluten it is important to pay careful attention to the ingredients found in foods. There are obvious traces of gluten but also foods where it is not going to be so straightforward.

We are going to focus solely on various types of flatbreads including chapatti, roti, paratha, and even ‘wheat’ tortilla and other variants.

You should check with a nutritionist or doctor but generally speaking allowed fresh foods on a gluten free diet include; Fruits and vegetables; Beans, seeds, legumes and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms; Eggs; Lean, non-processed meats, fish and poultry; Most low-fat dairy products.

Generally speaking the following grains tends to acceptable in a gluten free diet – but of course everyone is different and this is a broad guide for your information. Acceptable grains might be: Amaranth; Arrowroot; Buckwheat; Corn — cornmeal, grits and polenta labeled gluten-free; Flax; Gluten-free flours — rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours; Millet; Quinoa; Most rice, including wild rice; Sorghum; Soy; Tapioca (cassava root); and Teff.

Again, generally speaking the grains to completely avoid are: Wheat; Barley; Rye and in some cases, oats (nb. oats are naturally gluten-free, but  they may be contaminated during production with wheat, barley or rye. We recommend caution around oats).     
 

Processed foods

Wheat, barley and rye are obvious ingredients in many foods, however, these grains are standard ingredients in a number of other products. Also, wheat or wheat gluten is added as a thickening or binding agent, flavouring, and also as a colouring. It's important to read labels of processed foods to determine if they contain wheat, as well as barley and rye.

In general, avoid the following foods unless they're labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley); Breads; Bulgur wheat; Cakes and pies; boiled sweets; Cereals; Cookies and crackers; Croutons; French fries; Gravies; Imitation meat or seafood; Malt, malt flavoring and other malt products (barley); Pasta; Hot dogs and processed ham and pepporoni; Salad dressings; Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat); Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips; Soups, bouillon or soup mixes.

You should also check some medicines and supplements as they might use gluten as a binding agent.

Unit 2,

Heywoods Industrial Park,

Birds Royd Lane,

Brighouse

HD6 1NA 

E-Mail: sales@eurostarfoods.co.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 1484 320 516

  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle